Early Access to the Hottest New Penguin Books | First to Read

FEATURED TITLES

  • The Improbability of Love

    The Improbability of Love

    Hannah Rothschild

    Irreverent, witty, bittersweet, The Improbability of Love  is an exuberant and unexpected journey through life’s highs and lows and the complexities of love and loss. 

---

EARLY REVIEWS

  • A Place We Knew Well

    A Place We Knew Well

    Susan Carol McCarthy

    Susan Carol McCarthy returns with another enthralling story of a family—their longings, their fears, and their secrets—swept up in the chaos at the height of the Cold War.

  • The Courtesan

    The Courtesan

    Alexandra Curry

    A book that shines a small light on the large history of China’s relationship with the West, The Courtesan is a novel that distills, with the economy of a poem, a woman’s journey of untold miles to discern what is real and abiding.

  • The Hanging Girl

    The Hanging Girl

    Jussi Adler-Olsen

    The sixth book in the exhilariting Department Q series that reunities readers with Carl, Assad, Rose, and newcomer Gordon as they attempt to stop a string of new murders and a skilled manipulator.

  • A Beginner's Guide to Paradise

    A Beginner's Guide to Paradise

    Alex Sheshunoff

    From Robinson Crusoe to Survivor, Gilligan’s Island to The Beach, people have fantasized about living on a remote tropical island. But when facing a quarter-life crisis, plucky desk slave Alex Sheshunoff actually did it.

  • The Middle of Somewhere

    The Middle of Somewhere

    Sonja Yoerg

    A story that teaches us the value of confronting the reality of past mistakes, current fears and a future path.

  • Sorcerer to the Crown

    Sorcerer to the Crown

    Zen Cho

    A beautiful debut novel that clashes magic and mayhem with the British elite, setting Zacharias Wythe on a path which will alter the nature of sorcery in all of Britain.

  • The Gates of Evangeline

    The Gates of Evangeline

    Hester Young

    A Southern Gothic mystery debut that combines literary suspense and romance with a mystical twist, The Gates of Evangeline is a story that readers of Gillian Flynn, Kate Atkinson, and Alice Sebold won't be able to put down.

  • Is Fat Bob Dead Yet?

    Is Fat Bob Dead Yet?

    Stephen Dobyns

    A comic suspense novel about a small-time con operation, a pair of combative detectives, and the pride, revenge, and deception that guide us all–Richard Russo meets Elmore Leonard.

  • Strangers Drowning

    Strangers Drowning

    Larissa MacFarquhar

    Through its sympathetic and beautifully vivid storytelling, Strangers Drowning confronts us with fundamental questions about what it means to be human and challenges us to think about what we value most, and why.

  • Blood and Salt

    Blood and Salt

    Kim Liggett

    Romeo and Juliet meets Children of the Corn in this one-of-a-kind romantic horror.

  • Juniors

    Juniors

    Kaui Hart Hemmings

    A story for those who are "stuck in the middle" of love and life and waiting for a way to do things on their terms.

  • Don't Fail Me Now

    Don't Fail Me Now

    Una LaMarche

    Una LaMarche triumphs once again with this rare and compassionate look at how racial and social privilege affects one family in crisis in both subtle and astonishing ways.

  • The End Game

    The End Game

    Catherine Coulter, J. T. Ellison

    The End Game marks the return of Nicholas Drummond and Mike Caine in an explosive new thriller from New York Times bestselling author Catherine Coulter.

  • A Curious Beginning

    A Curious Beginning

    Deanna Raybourn

    In her thrilling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey mysteries, returns once more to Victorian England…and introduces intrepid adventuress Veronica Speedwell.

  • The Art of Language Invention

    The Art of Language Invention

    David J. Peterson

    The Art of Language Invention is an inside look at a fascinating culture and an engaging entry into a flourishing art form—and it might be the most fun you’ll ever have with linguistics.

  • Minute Zero

    Minute Zero

    Todd Moss

    Fresh off the harrowing events of The Golden Hour, State Department crisis manager Judd Ryker is suddenly thrown into a quickly developing emergency which threatens the lives of millions, including his own.

  • SuperBetter

    SuperBetter

    Jane McGonigal

    As inspiring as it is down to earth, grounded in rigorous research, and powered by game design, SuperBetter is a proven game plan for a better life. Never again will you say that something is "just a game."

  • The Last Season

    The Last Season

    Stuart Stevens

    Poignant and full of heart, but also irreverent and often hilarious, The Last Season is a powerful story of parents and children and of the importance of taking a backward glance together while you still can.

  • Last Night in the OR

    Last Night in the OR

    Byers Shaw

    In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, Last Night in the OR is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, one that will captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty.

  • Come Rain or Come Shine

    Come Rain or Come Shine

    Jan Karon

    In Come Rain or Come Shine, Jan Karon delivers the wedding that millions of Mitford fans have waited for. It’s a June day in the mountains, with more than a few creatures great and small, and you’re invited—because you’re family.

  • A Beam of Light

    A Beam of Light

    Andrea Camilleri

    The nineteenth installment of Andrea Camilleri's Inspector Montalbano series that leads readers down a windy trail of deception and tragedy from which there might be no return.

  • Nonsense

    Nonsense

    Jamie Holmes

    In an increasingly unpredictable, complex world, it turns out that what matters most isn’t IQ, willpower, or confidence in what we know. It’s how we deal with what we don’t understand.

  • The Improbability of Love

    The Improbability of Love

    Hannah Rothschild

    Irreverent, witty, bittersweet, The Improbability of Love  is an exuberant and unexpected journey through life’s highs and lows and the complexities of love and loss. 

  • Nightfall

    Nightfall

    Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

    Journey to an island where the lack of sunlight isn't the only thing spreading darkness across the land.

  • The Distance from Me to You

    The Distance from Me to You

    Marina Gessner

    The journey of a lifetime that will take you on an emotionally charged journey of dizzying highs and devastating lows.

  • Pop Goes the Weasel

    Pop Goes the Weasel

    M. J. Arlidge

    The return of Detective Helen Grace in a thrilling story that pits her against a volatile killer.

  • Buffalo Trail

    Buffalo Trail

    Jeff Guinn

    Cash McLendon is in desperate need of a safe haven somewhere—anywhere—on the frontier.  Instead, he finds himself in another fight for his life.

  • You Don't Have to Like Me

    You Don't Have to Like Me

    Alida Nugent

    You Don’t Have to Like Me skewers a range of cultural issues, and confirms Alida Nugent as a star on the rise.

  • America's Bank

    America's Bank

    Roger Lowenstein

    A powerful and intelligent story told by one of our most accomplished financial experts, America’s Bank puts readers into the cockpit at a time of financial turmoil and political transformation.

  • The Outsider

    The Outsider

    Frederick Forsyth

    It is a memoir like no other—and a book of pure delight from one of the grand masters of international suspense.

  • You Blew It!

    You Blew It!

    Josh Gondelman, Joe Berkowitz

    In You Blew It!, Josh Gondelman, comedian and co-creator of the “Modern Seinfeld” twitter account, teams up with Joe Berkowitz, an equally wry and ruthless social-observer, to dissect a range of painfully hilarious faux pas.

  • Naughtier than Nice

    Naughtier than Nice

    Eric Jerome Dickey

    Revisit the McBroom sisters whose romantic adventures make for a white (hot) Christmas.

---

RECENT OFFERS

  • Nightfall

    Nightfall

    Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

    Journey to an island where the lack of sunlight isn't the only thing spreading darkness across the land.

  • Buffalo Trail

    Buffalo Trail

    Jeff Guinn

    Cash McLendon is in desperate need of a safe haven somewhere—anywhere—on the frontier.  Instead, he finds himself in another fight for his life.

  • My Year of Running Dangerously

    My Year of Running Dangerously

    Tom Foreman

    Told with honesty and humor, My Year of Running Dangerously is CNN correspondent Tom Foreman's journey through four half-marathons, three marathons, and one 55-mile race.

  • Pop Goes the Weasel

    Pop Goes the Weasel

    M. J. Arlidge

    The return of Detective Helen Grace in a thrilling story that pits her against a volatile killer.

  • Saturn Run

    Saturn Run

    John Sandford, Ctein

    From one of the world's greatest masters of suspense comes a stunning new thriller: a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.

  • The Outsider

    The Outsider

    Frederick Forsyth

    It is a memoir like no other—and a book of pure delight from one of the grand masters of international suspense.

  • You Blew It!

    You Blew It!

    Josh Gondelman, Joe Berkowitz

    In You Blew It!, Josh Gondelman, comedian and co-creator of the “Modern Seinfeld” twitter account, teams up with Joe Berkowitz, an equally wry and ruthless social-observer, to dissect a range of painfully hilarious faux pas.

  • Nonsense

    Nonsense

    Jamie Holmes

    In an increasingly unpredictable, complex world, it turns out that what matters most isn’t IQ, willpower, or confidence in what we know. It’s how we deal with what we don’t understand.

  • America's Bank

    America's Bank

    Roger Lowenstein

    A powerful and intelligent story told by one of our most accomplished financial experts, America’s Bank puts readers into the cockpit at a time of financial turmoil and political transformation.

  • The Distance from Me to You

    The Distance from Me to You

    Marina Gessner

    The journey of a lifetime that will take you on an emotionally charged journey of dizzying highs and devastating lows.

  • You Don't Have to Like Me

    You Don't Have to Like Me

    Alida Nugent

    You Don’t Have to Like Me skewers a range of cultural issues, and confirms Alida Nugent as a star on the rise.

  • Brand Luther

    Brand Luther

    Andrew Pettegree

    Brand Luther fuses the history of religion, of printing, and of capitalism—the literal marketplace of ideas—into one enthralling story.

  • Christmas Bells

    Christmas Bells

    Jennifer Chiaverini

    Jennifer Chiaverini’s resonant and heartfelt novel for the season reminds us why we must continue to hear glad tidings, even as we are tested by strife.

  • Every Time I Find the Meaning of Life, They Change It

    Every Time I Find the Meaning of Life, They Change It

    Daniel Klein

    In these pages, our favorite jokester–philosopher Daniel Klein tackles life’s biggest questions, leaving us chuckling and enlightened.

  • Naughtier than Nice

    Naughtier than Nice

    Eric Jerome Dickey

    Revisit the McBroom sisters whose romantic adventures make for a white (hot) Christmas.

---