The Sky Is Yours by Chandler Klang Smith

The Sky Is Yours

Chandler Klang Smith

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud AtlasSuper Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.

Access the hottest new Penguin Random House books months before they hit the shelves.

Sign In or Join Today

SIGN UP

Sign me up to receive news about Chandler Klang Smith.

Place our blog button on your blog to let people know you are a member of this great program!

A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it’s like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure
 
In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis’ last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they've ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.
 
The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.


Advance Galley Reviews

I honestly don't know how I feel about this book. It was extremely unique, to say the least. It took me a while to read this book, because it was so strange that I found it hard to really get into. That being said, though, I do appreciate how singular this story is - I've never read anything like it before and I can't imagine there's a similar story anywhere out there. Most of the characters were just a bit too unlikable for me, but I did enjoy Hooli, the rat, and Abby and their interactions. If you're looking for a very unique, very odd story, this will definitely fit the bill. I would recommend at least giving it a try, because it's a cool experience to read something so out-of-the-box and different.

 


Copy the following link