The Room of White Fire by T. Jefferson Parker

The Room of White Fire

T. Jefferson Parker

Three-time Edgar Award winning author T. Jefferson Parker delivers an exciting thriller pitting investigator Roland Ford against immensely powerful and treacherous people.

Access the hottest new Penguin Random House books months before they hit the shelves.

Sign In or Join Today

Featured Titles

SIGN UP

Sign me up to receive news about T. Jefferson Parker.

Place our blog button on your blog to let people know you are a member of this great program!

For fans of Michael Connelly and C. J. Box: a stirring thriller from New York Times bestseller and award winner T. Jefferson Parker. In The Room of White Fire, a P.I. must hunt down a soldier who is damaged by war, dangerous, and on the run.
 
A young soldier escaped from a mental institution.
A P.I. carrying his own wounds hired to track that soldier down.
A race against the clock to bring the soldier home before he reveals the secret that haunts him.
 
Roland Ford—once a cop, then a marine, now a private investigator—is good at finding people. But when he’s asked to locate Air Force veteran Clay Hickman, he realizes he’s been drawn into something deep and dark. He knows war, having served as a Marine in first Fallujah; he also knows personal pain, as only two years have passed since his wife, Justine, died. What he doesn’t know is why a shroud of secrecy hangs over the disappearance of Clay Hickman—and why he’s getting a different story from everyone involved.

To begin with, there’s Sequoia, the teenage woman who helped Clay escape; she’s smart enough to fend off Ford’s questions but impetuous enough to be on the run with an armed man. Then there’s Paige Hulet, Clay’s doctor, who clearly cares deeply for his welfare but is impossible to read, even as she inspires in Ford the first desire he has felt since his wife’s death. And there’s Briggs Spencer, the proprietor of the mental institution who is as enigmatic as he is brash, and ambitious to the point of being ruthless. What could Clay possibly know to make this search so desperate?

What began as just a job becomes a life-or-death obsession for Ford, pitting him against immensely powerful and treacherous people and forcing him to contend with chilling questions about truth, justice, and the American way.


Advance Galley Reviews

Having never read this author I didn't know what to expect. I found the story to be gripping enough that I never wanted to put it down and was always ready to jump back into it. There are some strong military torture scenes that might be a put-off for some readers. I liked the characters although there wasn't a whole lot of character development or arc in the story. Lots of broken characters but that was the point of the story so it worked just fine for me. The story was well developed and moved quickly as a good thriller should. I would definitely give T Jefferson Parker another read.

Fast paced and keeps you involved. It only took me two days to finish. Sadly, the story line is completely plausible and believable. This novel was very well written and keeps you guessing. I would recommend it!

I had some confusion figuring out the agendas of each of the different parties related to Clay. I think that the story was drawn out and it seemed that Ford was never going to actually complete his mission. The characters seemed contrived and impersonal especially that of Sequoia. I think that there was just too much going on for me to really get on board with being invested in this book.

I enjoyed this book. It was a fast moving thriller that left me guessing how it would end. Although the subject matter was unpleasant, I'm glad I read it.

Thank you for the ability to download and/or read this book. I use Kindles and have tried every possible way to convert or transfer the book - it would not download into Adobe Digital Editions because it says my copy is already registered to someone else. Yes, it is - my other computer, and my tablet or laptop will not recognize the registration info. I do not want to stand in front of my old computer to read a book. I have spent about 8 hours on this now - even with Adobe themselves. They have made it impossible to use their program since last I tried over a year ago. I have uninstalled / reinstalled and tried program on laptop to no avail. My Kindle Fire won't recognize anything I've done. Sorry to report such bad info, but I can translate ePub files that were not originally an acsm; otherwise, the ePub data is not recognized by translator software. I will wait for Amazon's release if I can't figure something out by then. Love your books! - And thanks for all of them over many years. Barbara Lewis, Sr. Citizen retired in Grants Pass OR

 


More to Explore

  • The Renegades
  • Iron River
  • The Border Lords
  • The Jaguar

Copy the following link