Target Omega by Peter Kirsanow

Target Omega

Peter Kirsanow

“An astonishing debut with intelligence and action on every page... Fans of Brad Thor and Vince Flynn will love Target Omega and demand more from Peter Kirsanow.” —Mark Greaney, #1 New York Times bestselling Author of Back Blast

Access the hottest new Penguin Random House books months before they hit the shelves.

Sign In or Join Today

SIGN UP

Sign me up to receive news about Peter Kirsanow.

Place our blog button on your blog to let people know you are a member of this great program!

A propulsive, high-stakes debut thriller where one extraordinary operator holds the key to saving the world from Armageddon. All he needs to do is stay alive.
 
Buried deep in the US defense and special forces architecture is an elite, ultra-black unit, created expressly to prevent weapons of mass destruction from falling into the hands of terrorists and rogue regimes. Their covert, surgical strikes eliminate grave threats so the rest of America can sleep without fear. Until now.

After returning from a successful operation in Pakistan, the entire team is assassinated within forty-eight hours. Only their leader, Michael Garin, survives.

As the sole survivor and chief suspect of the attack, Garin finds himself on the run from Iranian intelligence operatives bent on tracking and killing him. Even Garin’s own government appears to have turned against him, sending a lethal sniper from the vaunted Delta Force to eliminate the threat they think he’s become.

With enemies coming at him from every direction, Garin’s fight for survival becomes part of a larger conspiracy unfolding on the world’s stage: a catastrophic attack—precipitated by escalating tensions in the Middle East—that will shift the balance of power and plunge the United States of America into oblivion.


Advance Galley Reviews

I would like to thank First to Read for providing a copy of this book for review. Peter Kirsanow has written a book where the action starts on page one and does not stop until the end. Mike Garin is the team leader of a special force whose members are all assassinated after the completion of a mission. On the run from assassins and law enforcement, he is not sure who he can trust. Tied to the murders is a plot for the destruction of Israel and an attack on the U.S. Garin receives help from his one-time partner, who connects him to the aide to the National Security Advisor. What follows is a roller coaster ride with some truly unexpected surprises that will have you racing to the end.

Great action with an excellent story line. Character development is good. Looking forward to Garin's next adventure.

Target Omega was a good fast paced action thriller. I really liked Garin, the main man in the book, at first I wasn't sure if he was good or bad. But throughout the story it was very clear he was on the good side. The ending left me thinking that there will be a sequel, especially since the main evil character Bor did not die.

I was hooked from the start. Totally believable scenario and plot. I can't wait to find out where Mike Garin turns up next! Thank you First to Read!

This was a great book that left me wanting more. While I was shocked with the beginning and trying to figure out why certain things happened it all became clear. A quick page turner that makes you wonder what are the chances of something like the international relations crisis happening in today's society. I read that this book was similar to Vince Flynn's books and that description is right - I want more Mike Garin - what is he going to do next and will he succeed in taking out the adversary?

A Penguin First to Read ARC e-book in exchange for an honest review. Action packed thriller following the “innocent man on the run, will do anything to prove innocence while being a hero to the world” theme. I would recommend this to those that like military themed thrillers. It is action packed, violence packed and relies heavily on special force references and training to move the plot along since the average Joe would have died by chapter two and the average grunt would maybe make it to chapter three. This is book one in the Mike Garin Thriller series. Mike Garin is special forces of a highly questionable and guarded secret team, the Omegas. The team just got back from a successful trip to Pakistan when all of them, but Garin, are killed. Garin is left as the prime suspect and the government as well as his enemies want him eliminated. Garin tries to avenge his teams death, keep his family safe and bring down a conspiracy that threatens the USA power as tensions in the Middle East climb.

I received an ARC of 'Target Omega' by Peter Kirsanow from the First to Read program for free in exchange for my review. This was a good debut this I read with relish. The action started in the first chapter then continued through the entire book. My only issue was with the assassination of Garin's entire team. Not only did this seem to happen too easily but Garin identify's a watcher with his mentor then dismisses it until they try to assassinate him when he returns home. Part of this is explained when the identity of the assassin is revealed but since these were the elite of the elite, they still seemed to have been killed too easily. Even with this reservation, I enjoyed the book including the development of the main character and his 'ad hoc' support team. I would give this four stars, an excellent debut!

A solid debut novel; the writing was a bit clunky at times but overall definitely worth the read. I'm curious to see where the series goes.

Fast and thrilling, another addition to the 'special forces team leader on the run from everyone while trying to save the world and redeem his good name' genre. As is usual for these stories, his entire team is killed and even his mentor is threatened, what's a well-trained special forces op to do? In this case, a little bit of everything and all of it quickly with no spare time or wasted moves. The story is ripped from the headlines and the lead character is engaging enough to support a series. The author has already begun work on the next installment.

I enjoy fast action stories, but something was off for me, maybe the violence which lately makes me wince at times. Good read if you like action packed stories.

Targets your heart and blows you away. From alpha to omega, a full-fledged entertainer.

Hooked from the beginning - fast paced action - can't wait for a follow up!

This book was a blast to read!!. So many twist and turns that it made me finish the book in one sitting. This book is 5 star book all the way.!!

I stayed up to finish this book. I wanted to know what happened next. The author developed the characters so you got to know them. There was action and of course violence in the book but the plot was well developed and kept my interest. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

This book had action going from the first chapter and hardly stopped to take a breather until the end. The character development throughout the book was really good, although there were some characters that were introduced but then that was it. Story plot as engaging and I wouldn't wait to see what was going to happen next. I look forward to seeing where the next novel in this series goes.I received an advance reader's copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review via First To Read.

Intense! The explosive non stop action kept me reading late into the night and on the edge of my seat! This is by far the best thriller I have read in the past year or longer and I have read some by very well known authors! I received an advance reader's copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review via First To Read.

I had high hopes for this book. I like black ops stories. But, not with such detailed violence. I stopped reading in the third chapter. Will not consider reading any more books by this author :(

 


Copy the following link