I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O'Farrell

I Am, I Am, I Am

Maggie O'Farrell

In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.

Access the hottest new Penguin Random House books months before they hit the shelves.

Sign In or Join Today

SIGN UP

Sign me up to receive news about Maggie O'Farrell.

Place our blog button on your blog to let people know you are a member of this great program!

An extraordinary memoir--told entirely in near-death experiences--from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers.
Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.


Advance Galley Reviews

The detail in this book drew me into her life in a very vivid and compelling manner. Each of the different points in time in her life that were depicted were raw with the experiences and emotions she survived. This is the first novel that I have read of O'Farrell. I'll definitely be seeking out other work that she has penned to compare and contrast to I Am, I Am. I recommend it to all.

Beautifully written and thoughtful. The strongest passages are those devoted to events that O'Farrell remembers most clearly and thus is able to provide insight into how each impacted her life; the last two in particular are quite powerful and moving. The brief chapters that cover instances from her childhood that she has little to no memory of don't pack as much of a punch and feel excessive. I don't understand why these experiences are not presented chronologically; bouncing around in time made the book occasionally feel very disjointed. However, the unique concept and gorgeous prose kept me reading, and I look forward to checking out more of O'Farrell's work.

Her words are descriptive and poetic, detailing her life events so vividly I feel completely immersed in it, as if it is happening to me. I am jealous of her capability of revisiting past events with so much eloquent detail. We will all have our moments of near death experiences but to accurately acknowledge each event almost feels therapeutic. An extremely thoughtful book, highly recommended!

 


More to Explore

  • Instructions for a Heatwave
  • After You'd Gone
  • This Must Be the Place
  • My Lover's Lover

Copy the following link