How to Change a Life by Stacey Ballis

How to Change a Life

Stacey Ballis

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Jen Lancaster, and Emily Giffin: a novel that explores themes of friendship, getting older and love.

Access the hottest new Penguin Random House books months before they hit the shelves.

Sign In or Join Today

Featured Titles

SIGN UP

Sign me up to receive news about Stacey Ballis.

Place our blog button on your blog to let people know you are a member of this great program!

A dare between friends leads to startling revelations and simmering tensions in the latest novel from the author of Wedding Girl.

Eloise is happy with her life as a successful private chef. She has her clients, her corgi, and a recipe for the world’s most perfect chocolate cream pie. What more could she need? But when her long-lost trio of high school friends reunites, Eloise realizes how lonely she really is. 

Eloise, Lynne, and Teresa revamp their senior-class assignment and dare one another to create a list of things to accomplish by the time they each turn forty in a few months. Control freak Lynne has to get a dog, Teresa has to spice up her marriage, and Eloise has to start dating again. 

Enter Shawn, a hunky ex-athlete and the first man Eloise could see herself falling for. Suddenly forty doesn’t seem so lonely—until a chance encounter threatens the budding romance and reveals the true colors of her friends. Will the bucket listers make it to forty still speaking to one another? Or do some friendships come with an expiration date?

Readers Guide and Recipes Included


Advance Galley Reviews

I really enjoyed this book how three friends come together after the death of their teacher. How they each challenge themselves to better their life in a honorable way as their teacher would love them to live. I was able to relate in a way in how you want to improve your life!! So if you want to read a story that bring you to question your choice of life this is the book to read!!

First To Read gave me a great gift by allowing me to review "How to Change a Life." Stacey Ballis not only gives you a delicious story but also delicious descriptions of food including recipes. Three high school friends are reunited when their beloved teacher dies. The friends want to honor her by challenging each other to live the lives their teacher wanted for each of them. The story reflects the complacency in lives not experienced to the fullest and the steps everyone takes to change. This is a story that makes you want to explore changes you can make to improve your own life. Excellent book!

I enjoyed this book tremendously. All the characters were fleshed out and understood. The conversations and thoughts were engaging and well thought out. Half way thru I began to see this book as a great television series. I am not a foodie so didn't care too much about the descriptions, but love how it brought all these people together. This is a very positive, happy book. Nothing negative or bad happens. A world we would all wish to live in. Kudos to Stacey Ballis a fine author. Thanks fir choosing me to read an advance copy of this book.

I really, really liked this book. It's a sweet romance story and a relatable exploration of female friendships. I think the storyline of reconnecting with childhood friends later in life and the issues that can arise from that will really resonate with readers. Beware, though, if you're on any kind of diet - there are SO many delicious descriptions of food! And the addition of recipes at the end was too cute! Even though this was a light, fun read, there were a few parts that had me tearing up. If you're looking for a quick read that will keep you captivated until the end, pick this one up for sure.

Thanks Penguin for the advance copy! This was a quick, light read and the concept of friends reuniting after high school was very relatable. I really liked the main character Eloise and the way her character developed over the course of the story. The descriptions of the various meals were great too! The only thing was that the storyline felt a bit saccharine at times, and you could see the main "twist" a mile off. Still, a fun book!

I really enjoyed this book. I think a lot of women can relate to becoming staid in their lives. When Eloise reunites with her best friends from high school, they bet each other a series of things to complete by their birthday. Eloise comes out of her shell. Finds love, becomes more social, and works toward her goal of creating her own cookbook. She learns to live. What an amazing gift this group of friends gave each other! I think the boyfriend was very stereotypical with his race and some of his mannerisms and that there was a lot of predictability in some parts, however this was a good, solid, quick read that will be great for a book club to enjoy together.

 


More to Explore

  • Good Enough to Eat
  • Off the Menu
  • Out to Lunch
  • Wedding Girl

Copy the following link