Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Beasts Made of Night

Tochi Onyebuchi

Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

Access the hottest new Penguin Random House books months before they hit the shelves.

Sign In or Join Today

Featured Titles

SIGN UP

Sign me up to receive news about Tochi Onyebuchi.

Place our blog button on your blog to let people know you are a member of this great program!

“Tochi Onyebuchi deftly balances humor and tragedy, beauty and darkness. Beast Made of Night is an exquisitely crafted, imaginative and absorbing tale. Taj, the hero, is both imperfect and hilarious—I wish we could hang out.Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes and A Torch Against the Night 

“Beasts Made of Night
 will bewitch you. Taj will steal your heart without even trying, while his deadly world will lure you in, leaving you spellbound long after the final devastating page.” —Stephanie Garber, author of the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling novel, Caraval 

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor. In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life.

Copy the following link