Early Access to the Hottest New Penguin Books | First to Read

FEATURED TITLES

  • Love and Other Foreign Words

    Love and Other Foreign Words

    Erin McCahan

    Equal parts comedy and coming of age, this is a smart, bighearted love story—perfect for fans of John Green.

  • Will Not Attend

    Will Not Attend

    Adam Resnick

    An unabashedly hilarious memoir-in-essays from Adam Resnick, former writer for Late Night with David Letterman.

  • Invisible Ellen

    Invisible Ellen

    Shari Shattuck

    In the bestselling tradition of Jennifer Weiner, a clever, funny yet poignant novel about the friendship between two absolutely unforgettable women.

  • The Vacationers

    The Vacationers

    Emma Straub

    Emma Straub delivers a richly satisfying story of a family in the midst of a maelstrom of change, emerging irrevocably altered yet whole.

  • Denali's Howl

    Denali's Howl

    Andy Hall

    Journalist Andy Hall investigates one of the deadliest climbing disasters of all time and chronicles the story behind the men caught inside the storm and those who tried to save them.  

  • Gone Feral

    Gone Feral

    Novella Carpenter

    Novella Carpenter embarks on a journey of discovery that carriers her from her Oakland urban farm to her father's ramshackle cabin on a quest for connection that reveals who she is and where she came from.  

  • Inland

    Inland

    Kat Rosenfield

    Edgar finalist Kat Rosenfield returns with a mysterious psychological portrait of a young woman’s insidious connection to the sea.

  • Shirley

    Shirley

    Susan Scarf Merrell

    For fans of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf ? and Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, Shirley is a compelling, elegant thriller written in homage to Jackson’s own classic horror stories.

  • The Most Dangerous Book

    The Most Dangerous Book

    Kevin Birmingham

    The thrilling story of the writing and fifteen year fight to publish one of the most heralded works in literature, James Joyce's Ulysees.  

  • Terminal City

    Terminal City

    Linda Fairstein

    Take a deep dive into the dark history of one of New York City's most recognizable landmarks: Grand Central Terminal.  Join Alexandra Cooper on her latest hunt to stop a deadly killer from cutting his way to the heart of the city.  

  • Going Somewhere

    Going Somewhere

    Brian Benson

    Going Somewhere is a memoir of love and adventure that follows one young couple's epic cycling journey across the American West.

---

EARLY REVIEWS

  • The Secret Life of Violet Grant

    The Secret Life of Violet Grant

    Beatriz Williams

    A tale of determination and desire that propels the reader from 1960's New York to pre-WWI Germany, all the while watching a young woman grapple with the shadows of her family's past in order to shine light on her future.

  • Glorious

    Glorious

    Jeff Guinn

    Combining compelling characters with a vast and vivid landscape, New York Times bestselling author Jeff Guinn pens a tale of a protagonist on the run trying to start a new life at the edge of the final American frontier. 

  • Any Other Name

    Any Other Name

    Craig Johnson

    In this tenth installment in the award-winning and New York Times bestselling Walt Longmire mystery series, the Wyoming sheriff strays from his own terrain to unearth threatening secrets buried in a neighboring county.

  • Love and Other Foreign Words

    Love and Other Foreign Words

    Erin McCahan

    Equal parts comedy and coming of age, this is a smart, bighearted love story—perfect for fans of John Green.

  • Listen to the Squawking Chicken

    Listen to the Squawking Chicken

    Elaine Lui

    If Jenny Lawson was Chinese and wrote a Chinese mother-daughter book and punched Amy Chua in the stomach, you'd discover the unforgettable voice of Elaine Lui.

  • Troika

    Troika

    Adam Pelzman

    Praised for its engrossing drama and sensuous prose, Troika is a powerful original novel about an unconventional relationship among three very different people.

  • What Jackie Taught Us (Revised and Expanded

    What Jackie Taught Us (Revised and Expanded

    Tina Santi Flaherty; Liz Smith

    Commemorating the 20th anniversary of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’s death, this new edition of What Jackie Taught Us includes original contributions from a host of luminaries reflecting on the enduring legacy of this remarkable woman.

  • The Art of Arranging Flowers

    The Art of Arranging Flowers

    Lynne Branard

    From a New York Times bestselling author praised by the likes of Maya Angelou and Rita Mae Brown comes a moving and eloquent new novel about love, grief, renewal -- and the powerful language of flowers.

  • Everything Leads to You

    Everything Leads to You

    Nina LaCour

    Struggling to believe in the power of love while watching her own relationships fail, Emi doesn't know where to turn until a mysterious letter introduces her to Ava, a girl unlike any she has ever met before.  

  • Goodnight June

    Goodnight June

    Sarah Jio

    Goodnight June, a novel that imagines the inspiration for Goodnight Moon, is the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Sarah Jio.

  • The Big Tiny

    The Big Tiny

    Dee Williams

    The Big Tiny is a memoir not just of a life-changing "a ha" moment, but of what it means to build the good life and the right life every day. 

  • The Devil's Workshop

    The Devil's Workshop

    Alex Grecian

    Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad returns, in an extraordinary new case by the author of the highly acclaimed The Yard and The Black Country.

  • Midnight Crossroad

    Midnight Crossroad

    Charlaine Harris

    First in a new trilogy from #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon Charlaine Harris, author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels.

  • Inland

    Inland

    Kat Rosenfield

    Edgar finalist Kat Rosenfield returns with a mysterious psychological portrait of a young woman’s insidious connection to the sea.

  • What Has Become of You

    What Has Become of You

    Jan Elizabeth Watson

    What Has Become of You is a tautly plotted psychological thriller in which the bond between a private school teacher and her student is tested when a series of deadly crimes interrupts the peaceful small town New England campus.

  • Suspicion

    Suspicion

    Joseph Finder

    A stand alone thriller about a single father who makes a choice with dire consequences while trying to protect his teenage daughter.

  • The Temporary Gentleman

    The Temporary Gentleman

    Sebastian Barry

    From the two-time Man Booker shortlisted author of The Secret Scripture and On Canaan’s Side comes a stunning new novel about Jack McNulty and his love affair with Mai Kirwan, the great beauty of Sligo, Ireland.

  • Mistakes I Made at Work

    Mistakes I Made at Work

    Jessica Bacal

    In Mistakes I Made at Work, 25 high-achieving and influential women across a variety of fields share their worst on-the-job moments, and how they used those missteps as learning experiences to build a successful career.

  • The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair

    The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair

    Joel Dicker

    The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair is a fast-paced, tightly plotted, cinematic literary thriller, and an ingenious book within a book, by a dazzling young writer.

  • Part Swan, Part Goose

    Part Swan, Part Goose

    Swoosie Kurtz; Joni Rodgers

    Told with intelligence, humor, and remarkable candor, a powerful memoir of a life filled with unique choices, a wide-ranging career, and special relationships with family, friends, and colleagues.

  • Otherwise Engaged

    Otherwise Engaged

    Amanda Quick

    New York Times bestselling author Amanda Quick pairs a world traveler and a spy together in a race against time to stop a killer's stranglehold on London.

  • The Keillor Reader

    The Keillor Reader

    Garrison Keillor

    A collection of original and classic fiction and nonfiction by New York Times bestselling author Garrison Keillor.

  • Save the Date

    Save the Date

    Jen Doll

    Funny, honest, and affecting, Save the Date is a fresh and spirited look at the varied experiences weddings bring as well as the many ways in which we connect to one another.

  • When She Makes More

    When She Makes More

    Farnoosh Torabi

    A rising media star and financial guru targets the under-the-radar problems of what happens in a relationship when the wife earns more -- and shows how to avoid and solve them.

  • End Times

    End Times

    Anna Schumacher

    Mysterious omens indicate the end times for a Wyoming boomtown in this explosive new series that's Stephen King's The Stand set in oil country. 

---

RECENT OFFERS

  • The Keillor Reader

    The Keillor Reader

    Garrison Keillor

    A collection of original and classic fiction and nonfiction by New York Times bestselling author Garrison Keillor.

  • The Temporary Gentleman

    The Temporary Gentleman

    Sebastian Barry

    From the two-time Man Booker shortlisted author of The Secret Scripture and On Canaan’s Side comes a stunning new novel about Jack McNulty and his love affair with Mai Kirwan, the great beauty of Sligo, Ireland.

  • What Jackie Taught Us (Revised and Expanded

    What Jackie Taught Us (Revised and Expanded

    Tina Santi Flaherty; Liz Smith

    Commemorating the 20th anniversary of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’s death, this new edition of What Jackie Taught Us includes original contributions from a host of luminaries reflecting on the enduring legacy of this remarkable woman.

  • Any Other Name

    Any Other Name

    Craig Johnson

    In this tenth installment in the award-winning and New York Times bestselling Walt Longmire mystery series, the Wyoming sheriff strays from his own terrain to unearth threatening secrets buried in a neighboring county.

  • Everything Leads to You

    Everything Leads to You

    Nina LaCour

    Struggling to believe in the power of love while watching her own relationships fail, Emi doesn't know where to turn until a mysterious letter introduces her to Ava, a girl unlike any she has ever met before.  

  • The Devil's Workshop

    The Devil's Workshop

    Alex Grecian

    Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad returns, in an extraordinary new case by the author of the highly acclaimed The Yard and The Black Country.

  • Goodnight June

    Goodnight June

    Sarah Jio

    Goodnight June, a novel that imagines the inspiration for Goodnight Moon, is the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Sarah Jio.

  • The Secret Life of Violet Grant

    The Secret Life of Violet Grant

    Beatriz Williams

    A tale of determination and desire that propels the reader from 1960's New York to pre-WWI Germany, all the while watching a young woman grapple with the shadows of her family's past in order to shine light on her future.

  • The Art of Arranging Flowers

    The Art of Arranging Flowers

    Lynne Branard

    From a New York Times bestselling author praised by the likes of Maya Angelou and Rita Mae Brown comes a moving and eloquent new novel about love, grief, renewal -- and the powerful language of flowers.

---